Urgh, the gig incident takes me back a fair few years! To 2000 I believe! Picture this, I’m 20 years old, I’m taking a day off uni, because I can haha, to hang out with my metal guys. And by metal guys I mean a group of guys into metal music. We had tickets to see Slipknot in Portsmouth (we were all Southampton uni students). Instead of just going up in the evening, we decided to make a day of it and basically just hang out in a pub. Now back in my uni days, I wasn’t a big drinker. Purely because of emet worries. We had a great day though, lots of fun and we queued up for the gig around 7 or so. In we went. The support band on at the time were called Kitty. We stood watching them, trying to figure out where we would try and position ourselves for the headliners. Pretty much as soon as Kitty finished and the lights came up, no more than a few feet away from me, a guy with spikey hair was vomited on. Yep, from over the side of the balcony. It literally went everywhere. Honestly, you couldn’t make it up. And so my fear of hanging out under balconies/bridges etc was born! Even to this day, I am not happy about being seated under the balcony in a theatre, and I definitely won’t hang around under the balcony at a gig! This poor guy was covered. It was so horrid and it literally set me off into a huge panic then and there. None of my guys knew about the phobia so it looked pretty random me running of and crying hysterically. Kitty weren’t that bad, surely?! Anyway, one of my guys was super sweet – haha I married him ;-) He came and found me, got me some water and calmed me down about. I spent the whole night literally at the back of the venue, sat on a chair. And my guys stayed with me. All of them! What sweeties.

So there, day four of my stupid emet coincidences. I have soooo many stories like this. It’s like vomit attracts itself to me. Yay.

The things I learnt here – well one thing mainly – don’t stand under balconies where drunk students may hang out above you!

