Knowledge is power so I’ve been told. I’ve found though that being too knowledgeable in later life isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. I like the ignorant bliss that childhood brought me. For example, believing that I absolutely could not vomit on my birthday or at Christmas. These were happy times surely and vomit wouldn’t play a part? Another “ignorance is bliss” moment – believing that by not eating, I can’t be sick. Yeah right. Instead, your body goes through a horrid phase of hunger nausea and you end up retching and bringing up bile. Great. And my last “ignorance is bliss”, believing that anit-emetic pills work. Twice I have taken anit-emets prescribed by a doctor and twice they did not stop me being sick. Which kinda makes me think I made myself sick, through sheer anxiety. Hmm.

Anyway the point of this post is to be positive about being in the know. It is to explain how learning a few things help keep me sane and put a stop to catastrophizing and making general assumptions.

  • I’ve learnt about my body and how it works. This has been useful in terms of IBS, digestion and understanding exactly why my body might be sick.
  • Learning about food hygiene and preparation.
  • Learning about proper hand washing.
  • Understanding exactly how germs are spread and what I can and can’t catch.
  • Learning about the media and how their spin on things can make things seem far worse than they are (think norovirus stats)

When knowledge ISN’T power

  • Going into detail of when, where, what, how and why a friend or family member was sick. It isn’t useful, you don’t need to know and who bloody cares.
